IT Policies‎ > ‎

Supported Platforms

In general the College of LSA supports Windows, Mac and Linux computers. However because of support or security policy concerns, not all versions of these platforms can be supported at the same level. Below is a quick table of what types of issues will be supported for each tier and at what level. 
If something falls outside of the issue types in this table, support will be at the discretion of LSA IT.

Tier 1 (Fully Supported)
Tier 1 platforms are fully supported and endorsed by the LSA Computer Security Policy

In order to be considered a Tier 1 platform, the system bust be utilizing the current version of the appropriate "build", be a member if the Windows Domain (if applicable) and be non-proprietary hardware that is not more than 4 years old.

The following OS's are currently considered Tier 1:

Linux:           RHEL6/7 managed by the University RHN satellite server.
Macintosh:  10.9 & 10.10 using the Izzy build
Windows:     Windows 7 using the WLMS build

Tier 2 (Partially Supported)
With a few exceptions for security and network issues, Tier 2 machines will be supported by LSA IT - Randall as time, expertise and/or resources allow. 

These machines are usually either newer non-build/domain machines or older systems that fall outside of the standards in the LSA Computer Security Policy but are still in use in the departments or are modern machines not using the build. A good example of this would be vendor-supplied Windows XP machines connected to dedicated instrumentation such as a microscope, laser, or mass spectrometer. 

The following OS's are currently considered Tier 2:

Linux:             Any English language distro developed after 2009 or non-build RHEL6/7
Macintosh:    OS X 10.8 or non-Izzy 10.9 or 10.10
Windows:      XP & 2000 or non WLMS Vista or Windows 7

Tier 3 (Unsupported)
Tier 3 machines are almost completely unsupported in our computing environment with some exceptions for security and networking issues as time, expertise and/or resources allow. Two major categories of machines fall into Tier 3.
  • Personally owned computing devices.
  • University owned Machines that don't meet the requirements for Tier 1 or Tier 2.
  • Very old machines running archaic or non enterprise operating systems such as Windows 95 or OS2 and are almost completely unsupported (with the exception of mitigation of security issues, if practical). Any operating system not on one of the above lists is considered Tier 3.